Mirror by Sylvia Plath: A poem every woman should read at least once.

As an English major, I was required to read an extraordinary amount of literature during a four year period. Much of it I loved, and some of it made me fall asleep on my couch by 8:00 on a Friday night. One evening, when I wasn’t bored into a way too wordy book coma, I stumbled across this poem as I was doing a research project on the life and works of Sylvia Plath. I was so moved by this poem, that it has never been good enough to know that it’s always available right here on my bookshelf, so I printed it out, and it hangs proudly on my refrigerator for all of my guests to read. This is one of my many favorite poems.

Sylvia_Plath-1

Mirror
by Sylvia Plath

I am silver and exact. I have no preconceptions.
What ever you see I swallow immediately
Just as it is, unmisted by love or dislike.
I am not cruel, only truthful—
The eye of a little god, four-cornered.
Most of the time I meditate on the opposite wall.
It is pink, with speckles. I have looked at it so long
I think it is a part of my heart. But it Flickers.
Faces and darkness separate us over and over.
Now I am a lake. A woman bends over me,
Searching my reaches for what she really is.
Then she turns to those liars, the candles or the moon.
I see her back, and reflect it faithfully.
She rewards me with tears and an agitation of hands.
I am important to her. She comes and goes.
Each morning it is her face that replaces the darkness.
In me she had drowned a young girl, and in me an old woman
Rises toward her day after day, like a terrible fish.

MirrorPin3

About coreycarter

Corey Carter graduated from East Carolina University in 2010 with a Bachelor of Arts in English. After years of keeping the majority of her short stories and poetry private, she decided that it was time to pursue her dream of becoming an author. Her first romantic thriller novel, Shadows of Deception, was published in December 2014. When Corey isn't writing, she enjoys hanging out with her family and friends by the bonfire or out on the beach. She is a proud wife and mother to a very spirited toddler, residing in Eastern North Carolina. View all posts by coreycarter

One response to “Mirror by Sylvia Plath: A poem every woman should read at least once.

Leave a Reply

kelleysdiy

Where Creativity and Imagination Creates Wonderful Ideas for Your Home!

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Jean Lee's World

Finder of Fantasy & Adventure in Her Own Backyard

Words We Women Write

we do what we like and we like what we do

lovelyricism

A sneak peak behind my miscellaneous thoughts

DukkeHus

The Novel

