Wild Four Year Olds, Seashells, & Other Reasons I Took a Writing Break.

***To really put things into perspective before you read this post, I overcooked a whole chicken by 40 degrees while writing this. I forgot to set the timer because my child, who is taking her first nap in seven very busy days, distracted me when I popped the chicken in the oven. She cried hysterically because she wanted me to blow up her water wings, so she could fly like a bird on her way to nap time. When I told her no, she told me that I never let her pretend. Who am I to discourage imagination?***

This post was prompted after three people over the past month asked why I haven’t been

Nobody'sHomeFB

Add graphic design and advertising to the list of distractions.

writing, and a fellow author tweeted to me, asking why I stopped advertising my books. First of all, thanks to those people for noticing and caring. It’s easy to feel like a lost voice in the overcrowded land of online advertising, and after trying to self promote my novel and short stories for a few years, I just needed a little break from that very time consuming process. The tremendous network, support system, and friendships I created during that time have been my greatest reward.

Enter the four year olds and seashells. For those of you who do not know me well, I am a “stay at home mom”. (Whatever the hell that really means. My adventures rarely leave me at home.) I am also an independently published author and owner and designer of Ocean Inspired Design. My child has one more year of being “stuck at home” with me, and making memories with her is my number one priority before the slinging of books and seashells. I am in charge of finding other parents of four year olds, and charming them with my quick wit (awkward humor), all to ensure that they will want to play with us on a regular basis. My daughter actually collects friends at an alarming rate on her own these days, so we stay very social and always busy … and hot. Alone time is no longer part of my vocabulary.

seashellcrabWhile on one of our many beach adventures last fall, I collected a massive amount of seashells. One passerby looked at me like I was some insane shelling fanatic, which I now am, so I won’t judge him for his accurate observation. That seashell collection turned into crafting as a hobby. I showed my work to a few friends and received lots of positive feedback, so I opened up my own Etsy shop. A little bit of play money never hurts, right? Basically, I filled my free time with a new creative outlet during a discouraging writing period: Open laptop, stare blankly at screen, yell at screen, pour a glass of wine, stare at screen again, close laptop. I have never been one to force myself to write, so I took a break.

Now that I have created an arsenal of beautiful seashell wall art, wind chimes, and coastal wreaths, I plan on using my very little free time in the evenings to write a series of short stories over the summer. I also have a half written novel, coldly abandoned in Microsoft Word, which I may finish or save to a USB and watch as it melts in the fire pit. Who knows? Go ahead and add self doubt to my list of writing obstacles. As you can see, I have enough things going on to distract me from writing, but I have not given up or lost my passion. I’m just a busy woman, doing my best to make ends meet and raise a child who will hopefully become a wonderful benefit to society one day.

Thanks for reading and to those who support my work and continue to reach out to me! -Corey

 

About coreycarter

Corey Carter graduated from East Carolina University in 2010 with a Bachelor of Arts in English. After years of keeping the majority of her short stories and poetry private, she decided that it was time to pursue her dream of becoming an author. Her first romantic thriller novel, Shadows of Deception, was published in December 2014. When Corey isn't writing, she enjoys hanging out with her family and friends by the bonfire or out on the beach. She is a proud wife and mother to a very spirited toddler, residing in Eastern North Carolina. View all posts by coreycarter

Leave a Reply

kelleysdiy

Where Creativity and Imagination Creates Wonderful Ideas for Your Home!

MUMERCISE

Fitness and fun for mums

Jean Lee's World

Finder of Fantasy & Adventure in Her Own Backyard

Words We Women Write

we do what we like and we like what we do

lovelyricism

A sneak peak behind my miscellaneous thoughts

DukkeHus

The Novel

